Four laws passed in 1798. The Naturalization Act raised to 14 the number of years of United States residence required for naturalization. The Alien Act empowered the pres. to arrest and deport aliens considered dangerous. The Alien Enemies Act provided for the deportation of subjects of foreign powers at war with the US. The Sedition Act made it illegal to publish statements against the government, oppose lawful acts of the Congress of the United States, or aid in plotting vs. the US