Finally, London, the new album from Jesus Jones, has arrived in the US. The album was released October 23rd, 2001, by Mi5 Recordings, who have chosen "Nowhere Slow" as the single. That tune, as well as "In the face of all of this" can be heard at the Mi5 Recordings website (links below.)

The cover artwork was done by Mike Edwards, lead singer of Jesus Jones, and includes photos of the band taken at Iain's house in London and at the mixing studio in Detroit.

Quick and dirty review:
The album sounds much more like Liquidizer than Doubt or Perverse, but retains some of the depth and complexity of Already. Jesus Jones appears to have blended the elaborate synthesized melodies back into the ungentle guitar riffs and throbbing drum beats that characterized the band's first offering in 1989.

For example, the first song, "Message", consists entirely of Mike singing over some heavy guitar chords and drums, with only a little touch of synthy distortion.

The quality of the lyrics hasn't failed; Mike Edwards' songwriting skill speaks well on a variety of topics, and he handily includes explanatory notes for each song on the back flap of the liner notes.

Link to Mi5 Recordings Jesus Jones new album MP3s:

Source: Jesus Jones website, at