Quite a few different countries established their own prime meridians. The United States used Washington, DC as the prime meridian for a while in the 19th century.

The International Meridian Conference, held in Washington, DC in 1884, designated the Meridian of Greenwich as the standard prime meridian. France and Brazil abstained from the vote.