Fagaceae, the beech family, has 9 genera, including several important groups of trees and shrubs.

Domain Eucarya
Kingdom Plantae
Division Magnoliophyta (formerly Phylum Tracheophyta)
Class Magnoliopsida (formerly Class Dicotyledonae)
Subclass Hamamelididae
Order Fagales
Family Fagaceae

Subfamily Fagoideae:

Subfamily Castaneiodae: The genus Nothofagus is sometimes included in the Fagaceae, although it is more often placed in its own family, Nothofagaceae.