Ultimate fighting, far from being the combative sport of no rules that one might imagine, and that informally existed in the past has now acquired a governing body, the UFC, and a set of rules. Ultimate fighting combatants employ a variety of styles whilst attempting to incapacitate their oponents. Whilst it originated in the US ultimate fighting is gaining popularity in Britain, where there is soon to be a championship.

The following are offences in Ultimate fighting:

  • Butting with the head.
  • Eye gouging of any kind.
  • Biting.
  • Hair pulling.
  • Fish hooking.
  • Groin attacks of any kind.
  • Putting a finger into any orifice or into any cut or laceration on an opponent.
  • Small joint manipulation.
  • Striking to the spine or the back of the head.
  • Striking downward using the point of the elbow.
  • Throat strikes of any kind, including, without limitation, grabbing the trachea.
  • Clawing, pinching or twisting the flesh.
  • Grabbing the clavicle.
  • Kicking the head of a grounded opponent.
  • Kneeing the head of a grounded opponent.
  • Stomping a grounded opponent.
  • Kicking to the kidney with the heel.
  • Spiking an opponent to the canvas on his head or neck.
  • Throwing an opponent out of the ring or fenced area.
  • Holding the shorts or gloves of an opponent.
  • Spitting at an opponent.
  • Engaging in an unsportsmanlike conduct that causes an injury to an opponent.
  • Holding the ropes or the fence.
  • Using abusive language in the ring or fenced area.
  • Attacking an opponent on or during the break.
  • Attacking an opponent who is under the care of the referee.
  • Attacking an opponent after the bell has sounded the end of the period of unarmed combat.
  • Flagrantly disregarding the instructions of the referee.
  • Timidity, including, without limitation, avoiding contact with an opponent, intentionally or consistently dropping the mouthpiece or faking an injury.
  • Interference by the corner.
  • Throwing in the towel during competition
There are several ways to win a bout, which consists of three five minute rounds. There are five weight classes:
  • Lightweight – over 145 lbs. to 155 lbs.
  • Welterweight – over 155 lbs. to 170 lbs.
  • Middleweight – over 170 lbs. to 185 lbs.
  • Light Heavyweight – over 185 lbs. to 205 lbs.
  • Heavyweight – over 205 lbs. to 265 lbs.
Sources: The Guardian

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.