Longtime slogan for Rustoleum; the title of Neil Young and Crazy Horse's punk-era "comeback" LP, half acoustic, half electric, so pure, so real, as to make questions of the Old Fart's relevance moot - it was followed by the Live Rust soundtrack to the Rust Never Sleeps film. The title was suggested by members of Devo - who, like Rustoleum, originated in Akron, Ohio - and the phrase made its way into Young's "Hey, Hey, My, My".

Neil Young Album:

Rust Never Sleeps (June 1979, Reprise 2295)
Neil Young & Crazy Horse

  1. My My, Hey Hey (Out Of The Blue) - 3:45
  2. Thrasher - 5:38
  3. Ride My Llama - 2:29
  4. Pocahontas - 3:22
  5. Sail Away - 3:46
  6. Powderfinger - 5:30
  7. Welfare Mothers - 3:48
  8. Sedan Delivery - 4:40
  9. Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black) - 5:18

Produced by:
Neil Young, David Briggs and Tim Mulligan

Neil Young: vocals, guitars, harmonica, piano
Crazy Horse on "Powderfinger", "Welfare Mothers", "Sedan Delivery", and "Hey Hey, My My"

  • Frank (Poncho) Sampedro: guitars, keyboards, vocals
  • Billy Talbot: bass, vocals
  • Ralph Molina: drums, vocals

Secondary Musicians:
Nicolette Larson: vocals on "Sail Away" Joe Osborne: bass on "Sail Away" Carl Himmel: drums on "Sail Away"

Non-album songs from this period:

Back to Neil Young

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.