Administrative unit of local goverment in the UK. Several types of Local Authority exist, including districts,counties, Unitary Authorities, Boroughs, and Metropolitan Boroughs. Local Authorities are responsible for providing or commissioning a range of services depending on their status, this could include refuse collection, personal social services, and leisure facilities.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.