A larger monetary unit of Madagascar. It is equal to 5 Malagasy francs. It was a pre-colonial name later adopted in parallel to the franc currency. In July 2003 President Marc Ravalomanana announced that the name of the franc would be scrapped, and the new currency would become 5 iraimbilanja = 1 ariary. Banknotes of 2000, 5000, and 10 000 ariary are being issued.

The "currencyist" account does not want to collect XP; please don't waste a downvote.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.