Minor league to Arena Football League; started play in 2000 with 15 teams in the Southeast, most of which were owned by East Coast Hockey League owners and shared arenas with the local ECHL teams.

As of 2002, af2 had expanded well past this mark, now containing 34 teams in 2 conferences and 8 divisions. The league now blankets virtually every Southeastern and Deep South market not big enough for an AFL team, much of the Midwest, and includes one division in the Northeast and one on the West Coast. The parent AFL plans to further expand Arena Football via af2, perhaps into Japan and Mexico.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.