Although first awarded in 1980 the Whitbread Book of the Year was only a consistent feature in the Whitbread Book Awards between 1985 and 2005. It was won by a novel on seven occasions, three times by a first novel, five times by a biography, five times by a collection of poetry and once by a children's book (that would be Philip Pullman in 2001).

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.