The Western Cape is one of the nine provinces of South Africa.

Area: 129,370 Km2 (10.6% of South Africa)
Population at 2001 census: 4,524,335 (10.1% of South Africa)
Population density: 34.97 people per Km2.
Proportion of national GDP (2001): 14.6% of South Africa. The Western Cape has the second-highest GDP.
Per capita GDP (2001): R34 986.
Capital: Cape Town
Urbanisation: 95%
Languages: English, Afrikaans, isiXhosa
Borders with provinces: Eastern Cape, Northern Cape.
The Western Cape is one of the four coastal provinces.
Before 1994 the Western Cape was part of the Cape Province.

The western Cape is the South-westernmost province of South Africa. The main city of Cape Town is home to over 3 million of the 4 and a half million people here. The province has important grain and fruit-producing agricultural areas, as well as the wine-producing region. Much of the western cape has a winter-rainfall mediterranean climate.

The Western Cape is a popular tourist destination, with beaches, countryside, mountains, the unique fynbos vegetation, and Cape Town's natural attractions such as Table mountain, the Cape Point nature reserve, and the city's attractions such as restaurants and clubs. The Indian Ocean and Atlantic ocean currents meet here at Cape point, and the southernmost point of Africa is at Cape Agulhas.

The nine provinces of South Africa are Western Cape, Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, KwaZulu-Natal, Free State, Gauteng, North-West Province, Mpumalanga, Limpopo


Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.