A flat, irrigated region, the northern part of Serbia. Consists of three major areas divided by rivers Danube, Sava and Tisa, and those are called Bačka, Banat and Srem. The province capital is Novi Sad. Other major cities are Subotica, Sombor, Kikinda, Zrenjanin, Vršac and Pančevo.

Vojvodina borders Hungary on the north, Romania on the east, mainland Serbia on the south, and Croatia on the west.

Through history, this region was part of the Habsburg Monarchy, and it's still inhabited by a large number of Hungarians, Croats, Germans and others, aside from the Serb majority.

Vojvodina is not a poor place -- it provides 50% of the income of the today's Serbia, yet only 33% of the population. It has considerable agriculture, food industry and various other related industries.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.