Founded in 1977 as an expansion team (along with the Seattle Mariners), the Toronto Blue Jays began their history with a 9-5 win over the Chicago White Sox on April 7, 1977. The Blue Jays remained a cellar-dweller in the American League East until 1983, when they finished just nine games behind the eventual World Champion Baltimore Orioles. The Jays won the American League East for the first time in 1985 but were defeated by the eventual World Champion Kansas City Royals. The team finished above .500 every year from 1983 to 1993, culminating the run with two World Series titles...

In 1992, the Jays reached the World Series for the first time, defeating the Oakland Athletics in the ALCS and the Atlanta Braves in the World Series. Both series went six games.

In 1993, the Jays made it back-to-back titles, defeating the Chicago White Sox and the Philadelphia Phillies en route to their second title. John Olerud, Roberto Alomar, and Paul Molitor finished 1-2-3 in the batting race that year, and Joe Carter swatted 33 home runs (which was a lot back then), and drove in 121.

Recent years have not been so kind to the Jays. After their title year of 1993, they failed to finish above .500 until 1998, and unfortunately play in the toughest division in baseball - the American League East. Twice in a row they have finished third to the Red Sox and Yankees, both of whom have gone to the playoffs in those years.

The Blue Jays played in Exhibition Stadium until 1991, when they moved into the SkyDome, the first of a new wave of ballparks. The SkyDome has baseball's first retractable roof, and a hotel which allows guests to look out the playing field (and for the not-so-discrete, allows the fans to look in).

American League East Champions

  • 1985
  • 1989
  • 1991
  • 1992
  • 1993

    American League Champions

  • 1992
  • 1993

    World Series Champions

  • 1992
  • 1993

    Major Award Winners

  • Alfredo Griffin - Rookie Of The Year - 1979
  • George Bell - Most Valuable Player - 1987
  • Pat Hentgen - Cy Young - 1996
  • Roger Clemens - Cy Young - 1997
  • Roger Clemens - Cy Young - 1998
  • Roy Halladay - Cy Young - 2003

    Minor League Affiliates

  • AAA - Syracuse SkyChiefs (International League)
  • AA - Knoxville Smokies (Southern League)
  • A - Dunedin Blue Jays (Florida State League)
  • A - Hagerstown Suns (South Atlantic League)
  • A - Queens Kings (New York/Penn League)
  • R - Medicine Hat Blue Jays (Pioneer League)
  • Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.