The NCAA announced the sixty four teams selected for the 2009 Division I Baseball Championship Tournament on May 25, 2009. The selected teams will play in sixteen Regional double elimination tournaments of four teams each. Regional play will occur Friday, May 29 through Monday, June 1, 2009. The sixteen winners of the Regional tournaments will play in eight Super-Regional tournaments the following weekend (June 5-8, 2009), with the two teams playing a best of three game series. The eight Super-Regional winners will advance to the College World Series to be played in Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska from June 13 to June 24, 2009.

The top eight National Seeds selected will be the host sites for the Super-Regionals if they win their Regional Tournament. The National Seeds are:

  1. University of Texas
  2. California State University-Fullerton
  3. Louisiana State Univbersity
  4. University of North Carolina
  5. Arizona State University
  6. University of California-Irvine
  7. University of Oklahoma
  8. University of Florida

Pairings and seedings for all games through the first round of the College World Series have been set. In the first round of Regional play. the No. 1 seed will play the No. 4 seed, and the No. 2 seed will play the No. 3 seed. Re-seeding will not occur following Regionals or Super-Regionals. The sites, host schools and teams for the sixteen Regionals are:

Austin, Texas Regional, University of Texas Host (No. 1 National Seed)

  1. Texas
  2. Texas St.
  3. Boston College
  4. Army

The winner of the Austin Regional will play the winner of:

Fort Worth, Texas Regional, Texas Christian University Host

  1. TCU
  2. Texas A&M University
  3. Oregon St.
  4. Wright St.

Atlanta, Georgia Regional, Georgia Tech HostGeorgia Tech

  1. Georgia Tech
  2. Elon
  3. Southern Miss.
  4. Georgia St.

The winner of the Atlanta Regional will play the winner of:

Gainesville, Florida Regional, University of Florida Host (No. 8 National Seed)

  1. Florida
  2. Miami (FL)
  3. Jacksonville
  4. Bethune-Cookman

Tempe, Arizona Regional, Arizona State University Host (No. 5 National Seed)

  1. Arizona St.
  2. Oral Roberts University
  3. Cal Poly
  4. Kent St.

The winner of the Tempe Regional will play the winner of:

Clemson, South Carolina Regional, Clemson University Host

  1. Clemson
  2. Alabama
  3. Oklahoma St.
  4. Tennessee Tech

Greenville, North Carolina Regional, Eastern Carolina University Host

  1. Eastern Carolina
  2. South Carolina
  3. George Mason
  4. Binghamton

The winner of the Greenville Regional will play the winner of:

Chapel Hill, North Carolina Regional, University of North Carolina Host (No. 4 National Seed)

  1. UNC
  2. Coastal Carolina
  3. Kansas
  4. Dartmouth

The winners of the above four Super-Regionals will make up Bracket A at the College World Series

Fullerton, California Regional, Cal St. Fullerton Host (No. 2 National Seed)

  1. Cal St. Fullerton
  2. Georgia Southern
  3. Gonzaga
  4. Utah

The winner of the Fullerton Regional will play the winner of:

Louisville, Kentucky Regional, University of Louisville Host

  1. Louisville
  2. Middle Tennessee St.
  3. Vanderbilt
  4. Indiana

Tallahassee, Florida Regional, Florida State University Host

  1. Florida St.
  2. Georgia
  3. Ohio St.
  4. Marist

The winner of the Tallahassee Regional will play the winner of:

Norman, Oklahoma Regional, University of Oklahoma Host (No. 7 National Seed)

  1. Oklahoma
  2. Arkansas
  3. Washington St.
  4. Wichita St.

Irvine, California Regional, University of California-Irvine Host (No. 6 National Seed)

  1. UC Irvine
  2. Virginia
  3. San Diego St.
  4. Fresno St.

The winner of the Irvine Regional will play the winner of:

Oxford. Mississippi Regional, University of Mississippi Host

  1. Mississippi
  2. Missouri
  3. Western Kentucky
  4. Monmouth

Houston, Texas Regional, Rice University Host

  1. Rice
  2. Kansas St.
  3. Xavier
  4. Sam Houston St.

The winner of the Houston Regional will play the winner of:

Baton Rouge, Louisiana Regional, Louisiana State University Host (No. 3 National Seed)

  1. LSU
  2. Minnesota
  3. Baylor
  4. Southern University

The winners of the above four Super-Regionals will make up Bracket B at the College World Series.

Brackets A and B will each play a double elimination tournament, with the two winners playing a best of three tournament to determine the National Champion.

An interactive .PDF display of the entire Tournament Bracket my be found at

See The Road to Omaha 2009 - Week 2 for an update.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.