The Beatitudes are the nine blessings said by Jesus of Nazareth during his Sermon on the Mount, as reported in Matthew. On the other hand, Luke seems to think that Jesus gave these out at the Sermon on the Plain, and that there were only four. Whatever. Maybe Jesus repeated himself, or maybe one of the Gospel writers just totally botched the reporting job. Wouldn't be the first time.

In the Latin Vulgate Bible, "blessed are" is beati sunt, hence the name of the blessings. Here's the Revised Standard Version. YMMV.

Matthew 5:3-12

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness' sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so men persecuted the prophets who were before you.

Luke 6:20-23

Blessed are you poor, for yours is the kingdom of God.

Blessed are you that hunger now, for you shall be satisfied.

Blessed are you that weep now, for you shall laugh.

Blessed are you when men hate you, and when they exclude you and revile you, and cast out your name as evil, on account of the Son of man! Rejoice in that day, and leap for joy, for behold, your reward is great in heaven; for so their fathers did to the prophets.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.