The Southern Conference, SoCon, is a NCAA Div. I. It was founded February 25, 1921 from 14 former members of the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association. It has a long rich history and has had quite a few teams come and go including when the Southeastern Conference was formed by splitting of 13 schools from this conference in 1932. Also in 1953 a group of withdrew from this conference to form the Atlantic Coast Conference. The member institutions compete in a wide array of sports including I-AA football, men's and women's basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, and more.

The SoCon:

Back to NCAA Division I

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.