The Buddha taught that human beings have six means of obtaining sensory input, and he named these collectively the Six Sense Doors. They are:
  1. The Eyes (Visual)
  2. The Ears (Aural)
  3. The Body (Tactile)
  4. The Nose (Olfactory)
  5. The Tongue (Tasty!)
  6. The Mind (Thought & Emotion)

It is interesting see that the Buddha did not view thoughts and emotions as our own, but rather, as things to be percieved.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.