A tribute album released in 1996 by Lava Records, manufactured and distributed by Atlantic, with the claim that "a portion of the proceeds from the sale of this recording will go to the Children's Defense Fund". Basically, it consists of a bunch of artists/groups ("alternative" music, mostly) covering the Schoolhouse Rock songs from back in the day, all wrapped up in a lovely bright yellow jewel case (very distinctive!) containing a booklet of lyrics and cartoon caricatures of all the artists, along with some outline drawings of the Schoolhouse Rock characters

The track list:

  1. Schoolhouse Rocky (Original Theme Music) - Bob Dorough & Friends
  2. I'm Just a Bill - Deluxx Folk Implosion
  3. Three Is a Magic Number - Blind Melon
  4. Conjunction Junction - Better Than Ezra
  5. Electricity, Electricity - Goodness
  6. No More Kings - Pavement
  7. The Shot Heard 'Round the World - Ween
  8. My Hero, Zero - Lemonheads
  9. The Energy Blues - Biz Markie
  10. Little Twelvetoes - Chavez
  11. Verb: That's What's Happening - Moby
  12. Interplanet Janet - Man Or Astro-Man?
  13. Lolly, Lolly, Lolly, Get Your Adverbs Here - Buffalo Tom
  14. Unpack Your Adjectives - Daniel Johnston
  15. The Tale of Mr. Morton - Skee-Lo

In my opinion, the standout tracks are "Little Twelvetoes", "My Hero, Zero", "Lolly, Lolly, Lolly, Get Your Adverbs Here", "The Tale of Mr. Morton", and "Three Is a Magic Number" - but they're all well worth listening to, go get the CD! It's for the children for crying out loud! (and wonderfully campy, too.)

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.