Major league baseball team in San Diego, California. Member of the National League western division. Plays home games at Qualcomm Stadium (a name universally reviled by San Diegans, who still refer to it by its original name, Jack Murphy Stadium).

Started play in 1969, in the NL's second expansion of the modern era. When the Padres and the Montréal Expos were added, this made 12 teams in the league, necessitating the introduction of divisional play.

San Diego Padres Hall of Fame

The San Diego Padres created a team Hall of Fame in 1999. The following people have been inducted.

Buzzie Bavasi, Team President, 1969-1977. Inducted 2001.
Nate Colbert, 1B, 1969-1974. Inducted 1999.
Jerry Coleman, Manager, 1980, Announcer, 1972-1979, 1981-present. Inducted 2001.
Tony Gwynn, OF, 1982-2002. Inducted 2007.
Randy Jones, P, 1973-1980. Inducted 1999.
Ray Kroc, Owner, 1974-1984. Inducted 1999.
Dave Winfield, OF, 1973-1980. Inducted 2000.

Retired Numbers

6 Steve Garvey, 1B, 1983-1987. Retired 1989.
19 Tony Gwynn, OF, 1982-2001. Retired 9/4/2004.
31 Dave Winfield, OF, 1973-1980. Retired 4/14/2001.
35 Randy Jones, P, 1973-1980. Retired 1997.
42 Jackie Robinson, retired throughout all Major League Baseball on 4/15/1997.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.