South Australian National Football League. The Adelaide based Australian Rules Football leage, South Australia's answer to the VFL, considered to be the second best competiton in Australia.

The nine teams are the Port Adelaide Magpies, the Norwood Redlegs, Centrals (the Bulldogs), the North Adelaide Roosters, the West Adelaide Bloods, the Sturt Double-Blues, the Woodville-West Torrens Eagles, the South Adelaide Panthers, and the Glenelg Tigers.

Port Adelaide has been by far the most successful club in the league, having won about 38 premierships since their formation in 1870. They and their arch-rivals Norwood have always dominated the league, winning the most grand finals, and attracting the largest crowds.

In 1991, the Adelaide Crows were formed to establish a South Australian presence in the national competition. In 1997, Port Adelaide became the second South Australian team in the AFL, when the Port Adelaide Power were formed. Both teams play at Football Park, the largest ground in Adelaide.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.