The Red Devils is the nickname for Manchester United, a soccer team which plays in the English Premier League.

Started in 1878 as The Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway Football Club by a group of railway workers who wanted a club to play in, the team was subseqently renamed Newton Heath and finally became the Manchester United Red Devils in 1902.

Just as legendary as this team is, so too is their home stadium loved/celebrated by MUFC supporters and equally respected/feared by opposing teams and their supporters. Work on Old Trafford commenced in 1908 under the supervision of the renowned architect Archibald Leitch. By 1910 it was time to say goodbye to their old home of Bank Street. The first game held at the new stadium was a loss to Liverpool on February 19, 1910 but the local fans now had a stadium capable of accommodating an 80,000 capacity crowd. On March 11, 1941 the stadium was bombed during a German air raid, destroying the main stand, dressing rooms and offices. This forced them to negotiate an agreement with their hated crosstown rivals to use their facilities pending repairs. A setback like this, however, is nothing compared to a true tragedy.

Returning home from defeating Red Star Belgrade, the team plane crashed on February 6, 1958 after refueling in Munich. 22 people were killed, including 8 players.

They are a team of the highest calibre, as is evidenced by their list of championships:

European Champions Clubs Cup 1968, 1999

European Cup Winners Cup 1991

FA Premier League 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003

Football League Division One 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967

FA Challenge Cup 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999

Football League Cup 1992

Inter-Continental Cup 1999

UEFA Super Cup 1991

FA Charity Shield 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965*, 1967*, 1977*, 1983, 1990*, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003 (*shared the Championship with another team)

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.