North Carolina Speedway, or the Rock, or Rockingham, as it is known as is home to NASCAR Winston Cup and Busch Series races. The idea for a racetrack started in the early 1960's and has grown to the 1.017 mile superspeedway. Located in North Carolina, it is known for fan-friendly atmosphere and Southern hospitality1.

The track was finished in 1965 and debuted with the American 500 on October 31, 1965 with Curtis Turner wining the race. In 1969, the track was reconstructed. The raceway is owned by the International Speedway Corporation. In turns 1 and 2 there is 22 degrees of banking and in turns 3 and 4, 25 degrees of banking. The straightaways have 8 degrees of banking. Each turn is 55 feet wide and the straightaways are 50 feet wide. There are 45 pits on the front straightaway. There are pits on the back straightaway, however they are no longer in use. The grandstand seeting is 60,113.

The fastest qualifying for a Winston Cup: 158.035 mph, Rusty Wallace
Race Record for 500 miles: 130.748 mph, Kyle Petty
Most wins: Richard Petty
The fastest qualifying for a Busch Series" 156.368 mph, Greg Biffle
Race record, Busch Series: 124.397 mph, Mark Martin
Most wins, Busch Series: Mark Martin

Rest of the information from that site and www.nascar.comQA

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.