In Norse mythology, there were nine worlds all connected by the world tree Yggdrasil. The enormous ash tree connected:

  • Asgard, the home of the Aesir, one of the races of gods
  • Alfheim, the home of the light elves, the domain of Freyr
  • Vanaheim, the original home of the Vanir, the other race of gods
  • Niflheim, the world of darkness, from whence eleven ice-cold rivers flowed
  • Midgard, the home of mankind
  • Muspelheim, the home of the fire giants
  • Jotunheim, the frozen, mountainous home of the race of giants called Jotun
  • Svartalfheim, the home of the dark elves
  • Hel, the underworld where the death goddess Hel resides

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.