The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame was born on February 17, 1968, on the campus of Springfield College. It is named after James Naismith, the inventor of basketball.

It took time for the Hall of Fame to mature, meaning attract lots of visitors. The Hall welcomed its 100,000th visitor in 1973, but its 300,000th visitor registered three years later, in April 1976.

On June 9, 1986, the Basketball Hall of Fame closed on the campus of Springfield College and on June 30, a new state-of-the-art, three story modern Hall of Fame was unveiled.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is located at:
1150 West Columbus Avenue
Springfield, MA 01105
Phone: (413) 781-6500 or (877) 4HOOPLA
Fax: (413) 781-1939 or

The Hall of Fame is open 362 days a year, seven days a week, from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The Hall of Fame is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.

Admission Prices (Effective Nov. 20, 2000)
General: Adults: $10.00
Youth (7-14): $6.00
Child (Under 7): Free with parent
Group: Adults: (15 or more): $7.00
Youths: (15 or more): $4.00

Here are the last 10 years worth of inductees.

Sergei Belov, Player
Louis P. Carnesecca, Coach
Cornelius L. Hawkins, Player
Robert J. Lanier, Player
*Alfred J. McGuire, Coach
John (Jack) T. Ramsay, Coach
Lusia Harris-Stewart, Player
Nera D. White, Player
*Phillip D. Woolpert, Coach

Walter Bellamy, Player
Julius Erving, Player
Daniel P. Issel, Player
Ann E. Meyers, Player
Richard S. McGuire, Player
Calvin J. Murphy, Player
Uljana Semjonova, Player
Bill Walton, Player

Carol Blazejowski, Player
Denzil (Denny) E. Crum, Coach
Charles J. Daly, Coach
Harry (Buddy) Jeannette, Player
Cesare Rubini, Coach

Anne Donovan, Player
Aleksandr Gomelsky, Coach
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Player
John Kundla, Coach
Vern Mikkelsen, Player
Cheryl Miller, Player
Earl Strom, Referee

Kresimir Cosic, Player
George Gervin, Player
Gail Goodrich, Player
Nancy Lieberman-Cline, Player
David Thompson, Player
George Yardley, Player

Pete Carril, Coach
Joan Crawford, Player
Denise Curry, Player
Antonio Diaz-Miguel, Coach
Alex English, Player
Don Haskins, Coach
Bailey Howell, Player

Larry Bird, Player
Jody Conradt, Coach
Alexander (Alex) Hannum, Coach
Marques Haynes, Player
Aleksandar Nikolic, Coach
Arnold (Arnie) Risen, Player
Leonard (Lenny) Wilkens, Coach

Wayne Embry, Contributor
Kevin McHale, Player
Billie Moore, Coach
John Thompson, Coach
Fred Zollner, Contributor

Danny Biasone, Contributor
Robert McAdoo, Player
Charles Newton, Contributor
Pat Head Summit, Coach
Isiah Thomas, Player
Morgan Wootten, Coach

John Chaney, Coach
Mike Krzyzewski, Coach
Moses Malone, Player

Magic Johnson, Player
Drazen Petrovic, Player
Larry Brown, Coach
Lute Olson, Coach
Kate Yow, Coach
Harlem Globetrotters, Team

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.