Album released by Frank Zappa's first band the Mothers of Invention, this record served as a sort of "best of" for them since their first album, "Freak Out" released in 1966. Mothermania was released in 1969 and the track list is comprised of all songs cut from other albums and is as follows:
  1. Brown Shoes Don't Make It
  2. Mother People
  3. Duke Of Prunes
  4. Call Any Vegetable
  5. The Idiot Bastard Son
  6. It Can't Happen Here
  7. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here
  8. Who Are The Brain Police?
  9. Plastic People
  10. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
  11. America Drinks & Goes Home

By all means, this is a great record; however, I think that taking the songs out of their "natural habitat" (the album that they were recorded on, surrounded by the songs they were recorded with), makes the songs seem a bit flat. For example, the song "It Can't Happen Here", is from "Freak Out", and on that album, it follows the song "Help I'm a Rock". These two songs mix into each other witout a pause, and the lyrics drift into one another also. By taking "It Can't Happen Here" away from the song that it belongs with, makes it seem a little out of place.
But it's still a great song, still a great Mothers of Invention album.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.