The Medicine Hat Tigers are a major junior hockey franchise that plays in Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada. The team competes in the Central Division of the Western Hockey League's (WHL) Eastern Conference. The club's colors are black, orange and white.

The Tigers franchise was granted to local businessmen Ron Carry and George Maser and former NHL player Joe Fisher in 1970, and has been an integral part of Medicine Hat's community since then. The team has appeared in the annual Memorial Cup tournament three times: losing in 1973 (to the Toronto Marlboros) and winning in 1987 and 1988. Only six other teams have won the Cup in consecutive years, and only two of these clubs hailed from the WHL (the New Westminster Bruins in 1977-78 and the Kamloops Blazers in 1994-95).

Famous players who have donned the Tigers jersey in the past include such greats as Lanny McDonald, Morris Lukowich, Pete Peeters, Trevor Linden, Chris Osgood and Rob Niedermayer. The club has retired McDonald's #8.

Western Hockey League -
Medicine Hat Tigers Official Site -
Official Site of the 2001 Memorial Cup -

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.