The Hessell-Tiltman Prize for History is administered by English PEN and commemorates the author and journalist Marjorie Hessell-Tiltman. As a long standing member of the PEN organisation she bequeathed the sum of £100,000 on her death in 1999 to the PEN Literary Foundation to found a prize in her name.

It is awarded annually for "a non-fiction book of specifically historical content" which should be of "high literary merit" and therefore "not primarily written for the academic market". The rules are that neither authors nor publishers can make submissions to the Judges, although publishers are asked to "draw attention to" a maximum of two books on their lists.

The winner receives £3,000 plus a silver Dupont Pen.

Past Winners


Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.