Prestigious trophy awarded each year to the most outstanding college football player in the United States. It's presented by the Downtown Athletic Club (DAC) in New York City, The award is named after John W. Heisman, the first athletic director of the DAC, it has been awarded every year since 1936.

The winner of the award is determined by the votes of 870 sportswriters and telecasters, as well as the votes of all previous Heisman Trophy winners. The favorites are scrutinized throughout the year, and colleges develop marketing campaigns to promote their own athletes. Notre Dame quarterback Joe Theismann even changed the pronunciation of his last name to ryhme with Heisman, in an attempt to sway voters (it didn't work).

The award suffers a lot of criticism, because it is almost always awarded to an offensive player (maybe because offensive stats are easier to quantify), and because many feel that voters from each region (East, Midwest, South, and Far West), are biased towards players in their own region, and because voters from the eastern U.S. don't stay up late enough to see west coast games.

Quick Heisman Trivia Answer: Archie Griffin of Ohio State is the only player to win two Heisman Trophies.

Heisman Trophy Winners

1935  Jay Berwanger     Chicago 
1936  Larry Kelly       Yale 
1937  Clint Frank       Yale 
1938  Davey O'Brien     Texas Christian 
1939  Nile Kinnick      Iowa 
1940  Tom Harmon        Michigan 
1941  Bruce Smith       Minnesota 
1942  Frank Sinkwich    Georgia 
1943  Angelo Bertelli   Notre Dame 
1944  Les Horvath       Ohio State 
1945  Doc Blanchard     Army 
1946  Glenn Davis       Army 
1947  Johnny Lujack     Notre Dame 
1948  Doak Walker       Southern Methodist 
1949  Leon Hart         Notre Dame 
1950  Vic Janowicz      Ohio State 
1951  Dick Kazmaier     Princeton 
1952  Billy Vessels     Oklahoma 
1953  Johnny Lattner    Notre Dame 
1954  Alan Ameche       Wisconsin 
1955  Howard Cassady    Ohio State 
1956  Paul Hornung      Notre Dame 
1957  John David Crow   Texas A&M 
1958  Pete Dawkins      Army 
1959  Billy Cannon      Louisiana State 
1960  Joe Bellino       Navy 
1961  Ernie Davis       Syracuse 
1962  Terry Baker       Oregon State 
1963  Roger Staubach    Navy 
1964  John Huarte       Notre Dame 
1965  Mike Garrett      USC 
1966  Steve Spurrier    Florida 
1967  Gary Beban        UCLA 
1968  O.J. Simpson      USC 
1969  Steve Owens       Oklahoma 
1970  Jim Plunkett      Stanford 
1971  Pat Sullivan      Auburn 
1972  Johnny Rodgers    Nebraska 
1973  John Cappalletti  Penn State 
1974  Archie Griffin    Ohio State 
1975  Archie Griffin    Ohio State 
1976  Tony Dorsett      Pittsburgh 
1977  Earl Campbell     Texas 
1978  Billy Sims        Oklahoma 
1979  Charles White     USC 
1980  George Rogers     South Carolina 
1981  Marcus Allen      USC
1982  Herschel Walker   Georgia
1983  Mike Rozier       Nebraska
1984  Doug Flutie       Boston College
1985  Bo Jackson        Auburn
1986  Vinny Testaverde  Miami
1987  Tim Brown         Notre Dame
1988  Barry Sanders     Oklahoma State
1989  Andre Ware        Houston
1990  Ty Detmer         Brigham Young
1991  Desmond Howard    Michigan
1992  Gino Torretta     Miami
1993  Charlie Ward      Florida State
1994  Rashaan Salaam    Colorado
1995  Eddie George      Ohio State
1996  Danny Wuerffel    Florida
1997  Charles Woodson   Michigan
1998  Ricky Williams    Texas
1999  Ron Dayne         Wisconsin
2000  Chris Weinke      Florida State University
2001  Eric Crouch       Nebraska
2002  Carson Palmer     USC
2003  Jason White       Oklahoma
2004  Matt Leinart      USC 
2005  Reggie Bush       USC
2006  Troy Smith        The Ohio State University
2007  Tim Tebow         Florida
2008  Sam Bradford      Oklahoma
2009  Mark Ingram       Alabama
2010  Cam Newton        Auburn

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.