The Hawthorn Football Club competes in the Australian Football League. The club first formed in 1873 and joined the Victorian Football League in 1925. They first competed under the nickname of Mayblooms which was in reference to a plant found in the suburb of Hawthorn in Melbourne that flowers in May and has the same colours as the Hawthorn guernsey, brown and gold.

They have won 9 premierships in total, 1961, 1971, 1976, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991

They have had 4 Brownlow medialists. The Browlow is awarded by the VFL/AFL to the competitions fairest and best player for the season as judged by the umpires.
1949 - Col Austen
1986 - Robert Dipierdomenico
1987 - John Platten
1999 - Shane Crawford

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.