Greater Vancouver, also called the Greater Vancouver Regional District (GVRD) or the Lower Mainland, is a region of British Columbia, Canada, with a population of 3 million.

Situated immediately to the north of the Canada/USA border, Greater Vancouver includes the cities of Vancouver (proper), North Van, West Van, Richmond, Surrey, Tsawassen, Delta, Langley, Burnaby, New Westminster, Coquitlam, Ladner, Port Moody, Port Coquitlam, Maple Ridge, Pitt Meadows, White Rock, and even Abbotsford.

Alternately referred to by many who live here as "The Lower Mainland", and "The GVRD" (Greater Vancouver Regional District), the Greater Vancouver region abuts the US border, and sports a population of well over 2 million. A 1996 Geneva study of the standards of living of all the major cities on earth ranked the Greater Vancouver #2 in the world.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.