Forfarshire, also known as Angus, was a former Scottish county situated to the north of the Firth of Tay, with a North Sea coast stretching along it's easternmost parts. It measured about 36 miles across, both from north to south, and from east to west.

The county town was Forfar, and other towns included Dundee, Montrose, Arbroath, Brechin, Kirriemuir, and Carnoustie.

In 1974, as part of the Scottish local government reorganisation of that year, Forfarshire was absorbed into Tayside region.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.