Evangelion - The Day of Second Impact
Released by King Records on September 13, 2000
Product Number: KICA-525
Retail Price 2000 Yen.
Total Time: 47:14
(Japanese-import only)

Evangelion: The Day of Second Impact was released by Gainax and King Records to commemorate the date of the fictional Second Impact, an event which brought about World War III, and set the stage for Neon Genesis Evangelion. The CD underwent a limited run, starting from September 13, 2000, and ending on midnight December 31, 2001. It is a collection of common BGM tracks, and many pieces that defined Evangelion as a series.

Or as some might say, yet another move in Gainax's strategy of milking Evangelion for all it's worth.

1. Angel Attack (E-6)
2. Zankoku na Tenshi no Teeze (残酷な天使のテーゼ) (Cruel Angel's Thesis) (Director's Edit Version)
3. Decisive Battle (E-1)
4. Fly Me To The Moon
5. Thanatos (E-13)
6. Kanon D-dur (Strings Orchestra)
7. Tamashii no Rufuran (魂のルフラン) (Soul's Refrain)
8. II Air [Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BVW.1068]
9. Thanatos, If I Can't Be Yours
10. Komm, süsser Tod(M-10 Director's Edit Version)
11. Jesus bleibet Meine Freude [Herz und Mund und Tat und Lieben BVW.147] (ストリングス)*

The liner notes also include the full lyrics for each song that includes vocals, as well as a Japanese translation for each song in English.
*- katakana Cf. "Sutoringusu" - Strings.
The actual day of the Second Impact, September 13, 2000, is a reference to Space: 1999. The Second Impact happens exactly one year after the explosion of a nuclear waste disposal on the moon in that series. So this CD was released to commemorate the date of a fictional event that was set at that date in tribute to another fictional event.

The CD is actually very good. It is a sort of best of the best compilation, and though it contains no new songs that don't already appear on other Evangelion Music albums, that shouldn't stop you buying it. It is great for listening to in your car when you don't have a 20 CD stacker (becuase you will need one that big to hold all the Eva CD's) and you want all of your favourite songs.

Note: Evangelion - The Day of Second Impact is the official full title of the CD. See Evangelion Music for further information about namespacing issues.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.