European Onion was released by Pluxus in 2002 on Rocket Girl as catalog number RGIRL36. The tracklist, with translations from Swedish where applicable, is as follows:

  1. Rüstval, Blåval (2:44) (Rustwhale, Bluewhale)
  2. Kung Sen Knege (4:22) (King, then Slave)
  3. Business (3:00)
  4. Sagsmeja (1:36)
  5. Psykopotät (3:16) (Psycho Potato)
  6. Igår Idag Och from Nu (3:54) (Yesterday, today and from now on)
  7. April 1724 (2:43)
  8. Polyfant (3:13)
  9. Molltolerans (5:19) (Minor Tolerance - note that minor is the musical term in this case)
  10. Agent Tangent (3:31)
  11. Calimucho (2:39)
  12. Nomi (2:13)

The production quality of the third album from the Swedish trio is the highest so far. As an unfortunate consequence, they lose a bit of their lo-fi innocence, one of my favorite parts about their sound. That is not to say that this is a bad album, it's just not their best. In fact, I'd say it's more accessible than their first albums, so you might want to give this a listen either way.

If you aren't familiar with their previous work, it's highly corny - it sounds like vintage computer games. Lots of old analogue synths and drum machines make up the sound, with a tendency towards the more playful with a few melancholic songs for good measure.

The cover art is an odd hippieesque "flower power" image that doesn't match the idea I get of the band at all. But maybe that's the point; to be surprising and playful. The whole front is light green, with the title and bandname written in wiggly letters in the lower right corner.

The song Agent Tangent also appears as the first track and title piece on a six track EP. Incidentally, it's one of my favorites alongside Psykopotät.

Sources:, the actual disc. Note that my Swedish is a bit rusty, so if these aren't correct, do throw me a line.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.