The European Drosophila Genome Project has its origins in 1988 when a consortium of laboratories came together with funding from what was then the European Economic Community with the objectives of building a physical map of the fruit fly genome.

The consortium consists of ten labs, which are involved in the sequencing with different responsibilities. The labs are:

  • Department of Anatomy and Physiology, Old Medical School, University of Dundee
  • Department of Anatomy and Physiology, Medical Sciences Institute, University of Dundee
  • EMBL Outstation - The European Bioinformatics Institute, Wellcome Trust Genome Campus, Hinxton Hall
  • European Molecular Biology Laboratory
  • Sanger Centre, Wellcome Trust Genome Campus, Hinxton
  • IGH - Institut de Génétique Humaine - CNRS (CRBM)
  • UPR 41 CNRS Recombinaisons Genetiques
  • Centro de Biología Molecular Severo Ochoa, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas and Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
  • Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (IMBB)/Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FoRTH)
  • Max-Planck-Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Department of Molecular Developmental Biology

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.