East Carolina University

Location: Greenville, North Carolina
Founded: 1907
Current Enrollment: 21,000

East Carolina University (ECU) is a state-supported university offering both bachelor and doctoral degrees. Founded in 1907 as East Carolina Teachers Training School to relieve a teachers shortage in NC. In 1921 the name was changed to East Carolina Teachers College. A graduate program was added in 1929, and the first Master's Degree issued in 1933. The name was changed again in 1951 to East Carolina College. At this time ECU was the fastest-growing institution in the state, and by 1960 it was the 3rd-largest school in the state system. University status was authorized by the General Assembly in 1967. In 1976 the Brody School of Medicine opened. In some areas, it is one of the best in the country (Rated no. 5 in rural medicine, and no. 8 in family medicine by US News and World Report). East Carolina is a Division 1 school, and competes in Conference USA as the Pirates. ECU fields 20 intercollegiate teams, including Football, Basketball, Baseball, Soccer, Volleyball, Softball, Swimming, Track & Fields, Tennis, and Golf.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.