Born in Mexico City on November 11th, 1928. Novelist, screenplay writer and essayist. Graduate of the UNAM (becoming licenciado in law). Studied economics at in Geneva, Switzerland. Worked in Foreign Relations and was México's ambassador to France from 1972 to 1976. Co-directed with Octavio Paz the Obregón Literary Collection. Has collaborated on the Revista Mexicana de Literatura (Mexican Literature Magazine) (founder and co-director with Emanuel Carballo), La Cultura en México (Culture in México) (director), El Espectador (The Spectator) (editor 1959-1960) and other major publications in the United States, Europe and Latin America.

His works have awarded him the following prizes and recognition: Premio Biblioteca Breve in 1967, for "Cambio de piel", Premio Xavier Villaurrutia in 1976 and Rómulo Gallegos in 1977, for "Terra Nostra", Premio Internacional Alfonso Reyes in 1979, Premio Nacional de Ciencias y Artes, for Linguistics and Literature in 1984, Doctor Honoris Causa by Cambridge University in 1987, XIII Premio Miguel de Cervantes also in 1987, Literature Medal of Honor of the National Club of the Arts of the United States in 1988, Orden de la Independencia Cultural Rubén Darío, given to him by the Sandinista government in 1988, Premio del Instituto Italolatinoamericano in 1989, for "Gringo viejo", Medalla de Oro from the organization Casita María by the Hispanic community of New York in 1991, Medalla rectoral from the Universidad de Chile, as creator and critic, for his role in the development of literature in Latin America and the Caribbean (1991), Premio Príncipe de Asturias in 1994; Premio Internacional Grizane Cavor in 1994; Premio Picasso, given by UNESCO in France in 1994, and Doctorado Honoris Causa by the UNAM in 1966.

His works have been translated to many a language. He's been a member of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C. as well as professor and lecturer at Penn, Columbia, Cambridge, Princeton and Harvard.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.