COSAFA is the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations. The name is fairly self-explanatory, with the council being an organization of the football (soccer to Americans) associations of 13 southern African nations.

Member countries are: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

While South Africa is the only member country to make an impact globally, appearing in the 2002 World Cup, there's much competition for regional supremacy. The annual Cosafa Castle Cup is the tournament for member countries. Started in 1997, the tournament has had 4 winners in its 6 years.


Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.