"BIRTH, SCHOOL, WORK, DEATH" was the first major label release by the spiffy dressed British rock group The Godfathers. The title track became somewhat popular in America once MTV gave the video some airplay in 1988. Unfortunately their success was short lived and their later work is mostly unknown.

There being different incarnations of the group of the years, the members on this album included Peter Coyne (vocals), Kris Dollimore (lead guitar), Mike Gibson (lead guitar), and Chris Coyne (bass), and George Mazur (drums). Dollimore produced some soaring technically adept solo guitar work for this album.

Catalog Number: EK 40946 Label: EPIC Year released: 1988 Playing time: 37:02

Track listing:

  1. Birth, School, Work, Death
  2. Time
  3. Tell Me Why
  4. It's So Hard
  5. When Am I Coming Down
  6. Cause I Said So
  7. Strangest Boy, The
  8. S. T. B.
  9. Just Like You
  10. Obsession
  11. Love Is Dead

Sample lyrics from the title track:


Been turned around till I'm upside down
Been all at sea until I've drowned
And I've felt torture, I've felt pain
Just like that film with Michael Caine
I've been abused and I've been confused
And I've kissed Margaret Thatcher's shoes
And I been high and I been low
And I don't know where to go

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.