The American Southwest Conference, ASC, is a NCAA Division III conference. Founded in 1976 as the Texas Intercollegiate Athletic Association (TIAA) the ASC contains many schools from the state of Texas. Initally, and for many years, only Texas institutions were members. But with the addition of schools from Arkansas and Mississippi in the 90s the conference decided to rename itself to the American Southwest Conference in 1996. The ASC has experienced a lot of growth, especially in the 90s, including adding 6 teams in 1997 and 2 more in 1998.

The ASC:

Back to NCAA Division III

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.