History Of The Award

In 1940, the Chicago chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) began presenting an informal award to the best rookie in the major leagues. The BBWAA took over the award in 1947, and in 1949, they split the award, giving one to a rookie from both the National and the American Leagues.

The American League Rookie of the Year Award has been spotty at picking out future stars: only 5 Hall of Famers have won this award. There has been only one tie for the award, in 1978, between John Castino of the Twins and Alfredo Griffin of the Blue Jays.

The New York Yankees and the Oakland Athletics have had the most American League Rookies of the Year with 7 each.


Here are the winners of the American League Rookie Of The Year Award, in reverse chronological order:

2019Yordan ÁlvarezHouston Astros
2018Shohei OhtaniLos Angeles Angels
2017Aaron JudgeNew York Yankees
2016Michael FulmerDetroit Tigers
2015Carlos CorreaHouston Astros
2014Jose AbreuChicago White Sox
2013Wil MyersTampa Bay Rays
2012Mike TroutLos Angeles Angels
2011Jeremy HellicksonTampa Bay Rays
2010Neftali FelizTexas Rangers
2009Andrew BaileyOakland Athletics
2008Evan LongoriaTampa Bay Rays
2007Dustin PedroiaBoston Red Sox
2006Justin VerlanderDetroit Tigers
2005Huston StreetOakland Athletics
2004Bobby CrosbyOakland Athletics
2003Angel BerroaKansas City Royals
2002Eric HinskeToronto Blue Jays
2001Ichiro SuzukiSeattle Mariners
2000Kazuhiro SasakiSeattle Mariners
1999Carlos BeltranKansas City Royals
1998Ben GrieveOakland Athletics
1997Nomar GarciaparraBoston Red Sox
1996Derek JeterNew York Yankees
1995Marty CordovaMinnesota Twins
1994Bob HamelinKansas City Royals
1993Tim SalmonCalifornia Angels
1992Pat ListachMilwaukee Brewers
1991Chuck KnoblauchMinnesota Twins
1990Sandy Alomar, Jr.Cleveland Indians
1989Gregg OlsonBaltimore Orioles
1988Walt WeissOakland Athletics
1987Mark McGwireOakland Athletics
1986Jose CansecoOakland Athletics
1985Ozzie GuillenChicago White Sox
1984Alvin DavisSeattle Mariners
1983Ron KittleChicago White Sox
1982Cal Ripken, Jr.Baltimore Orioles
1981Dave RighettiNew York Yankees
1980Joe CharboneauCleveland Indians
1979John Castino
Alfredo Griffin (tie)
Minnesota Twins
Toronto Blue Jays
1978Lou WhitakerDetroit Tigers
1977Eddie MurrayBaltimore Orioles
1976Mark FidrychDetroit Tigers
1975Fred LynnBoston Red Sox
1974Mike HargroveTexas Rangers
1973Al BumbryBaltimore Orioles
1972Carlton FiskBoston Red Sox
1971Chris ChamblissCleveland Indians
1970Thurman MunsonNew York Yankees
1969Lou PiniellaKansas City Royals
1968Stan BahnsenNew York Yankees
1967Rod CarewMinnesota Twins
1966Tommie AgeeChicago White Sox
1965Curt BlefaryBaltimore Orioles
1964Tony OlivaMinnesota Twins
1963Gary PetersChicago White Sox
1962Tom TreshNew York Yankees
1961Don SchwallBoston Red Sox
1960Ron HansenBaltimore Orioles
1959Bob AllisonWashington Senators
1958Albie PearsonWashington Senators
1957Tony KubekNew York Yankees
1956Luis AparicioChicago White Sox
1955Herb ScoreCleveland Indians
1954Bob GrimNew York Yankees
1953Harven KuennDetroit Tigers
1952Harry ByrdPhiladelphia Athletics
1951Gil McDougaldNew York Yankees
1950Walt DropoBoston Red Sox
1949Roy SieversSt. Louis Browns

Bold denotes Hall of Famer.

Source - Major League Baseball - http://www.mlb.com/

See Also:

American League Awards:

National League Awards:

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.