The AHL is not more "minor" than the IHL, it just has a different geographic location. The AHL is based in Springfield MA, and the teams are based in the northeastern US and southeastern Canada, and has more "international" teams than the International Hockey League. The winner of the annual playoffs wins the Calder Cup.

The teams are (as of 2000-2001)

Eastern Conference
Hamilton Bulldogs
Hartford Wolfpack
Lowell Lock Monsters
Providence Bruins
Portland Pirates
Quebec Citadelles
Saint John Flames
St. John's Maple Leafs
Springfield Falcons
Worcester Ice Cats

Western Conference
Albany River Rats
Cincinnati Mighty Ducks
Hershey Bears
Kentucky Thoroughblades
Louisville Panthers
Norfolk Admirals
Philadelphia Phantoms
Rochester Americans
Syracuse Crunch
Wilkes Barre Scranton Penguins

Update (11-Jun-2001): The IHL is dissolving, with the following six teams to move from the IHL to the AHL:

Manitoba Moose
Milwaukee Admirals
Utah Grizzlies
Grand Rapids Griffins
Chicago Wolves
Houston Aeros

In addition, two new teams will be added:

Manchester Monarchs
Bridgeport Sound Tigers

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.