The transfer of Hong Kong from Britain to China on 1 July 1997. Hong Kong is officially known as an SAR (Special Autonomous Region) according to the principal of "one country, two systems". The degree of autonomy is high but Beijing often applies pressure on particular points.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.