The seven deadly sins are presented to Dr. Faustus in Act 2, Scene 2 of The Tragical History of Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe. In Act 2, Scene 1, Faustus has signed his contract with Mephistopheles, to give up his soul after receiving certain benefits--including knowledge.

But, so uncertain is he in the gifts he has received, (in fact he is quite upset, as he is periodically through the play) that Mephistopheles, and his buddies--Lucifer and Belzebub--present him some entertainment.

On a more mundane note, it is only in their presentation that we have any contemporary record of them. Their usage was common throughout the Middle Ages. Our current names for the seven sins come from the elegant terms Marlow used to characterize them: